The Global Council

The Global Council (GC) represents the ultimate decision-making body of the CSO Partnership for Development Effectiveness, providing political leadership and strategic direction. Sixty five (65) organisations are currently part of the Council, representing a balance between sectoral groups and geographic representation. They meet at least once a year to address key issues that arise. Four Co-Chairs of the First Global Council were elected at the 2012 Nairobi meeting: Emele Duituturaga (Pacific Islands Association of Non-Governmental Organisations), Mayra Moro-Coco (Association for Women’s Rights in Development), Richard Ssewakiryanga (Uganda NGO Forum), and Tony Tujan (IBON).

After being elected as new co-chairs to the CPDE in Mexico in 2014, Maria Theresa Nera-Lauron and Patricia Akakpo were re-elected as Co-Chairs, together with holdovers Justin Kilcullen and Jorge Balbis in Brussels in 2015. With this re-election, Richard Ssewakiryanga stepped down as Co-Chair to the platform, thereby reinstating the original number of four (4) platform Co-Chairs.


In the fourth Global Council meeting in Nairobi in 2016, Julia Sanchez and Vitalice Meja were selected as new Co-Chairs, as Jorge Balbis and Justin Kilcullen stepped down. Co-Chairs Tetet Lauron and Patricia Akakpo will continue their terms until the next GC meeting.

Designation Name Organisation
Co-Chair Patricia Blankson Akakpo NETRIGHT Ghana
Co-Chair Julia Sanchez Canadian Council for International Cooperation
Co-Chair Vitalice Meja Reality of Aid Africa
Co-Chair Maria Theresa Nera-Lauron APRN
Regional Representative Aurelien Atidegla Réseau des Plates-formes nationals d’ONG d’Afrique de l’Ouestet du Centre
Central Africa Christine Andela Collectif des ONG pour la Sécurité Alimentaire et le Développement Rural (COSADER)
East Africa Eugene Rwibasira Rwanda Development Organization (RDO)
Southern Africa Nshindano Kryticious ActionAid Zambia
West Africa Emmanuel Akwetey Institute for Democratic Governance (IDEG)
Regional Representative Andrew Ambrose PACOS Trust
Central Asia Farida Abdyldaeva Public Fund Legal Perspective
Northeast Asia Jay Hung TaiwanAid
South Asia Thilak Kariwayasam Sri Lanka Nature Group
Southeast Asia Mi Nac Cooperation Committee for Cambodia
Regional Representative Emele Duituturaga Pacific Islands Association of NGO (PIANGO)
Polynesia Emeline Siale Ilolahia Civil Society Forum of Tonga (CSFT)
Melanesia Robert Zutu Development Services Exchange (DSE)
Regional Representative Justin Kilcullen CONCORD
EU Izabella Toth Cordaid
Non-EU Antonita Fonari National Council of NGOs
Latin America and the Caribbean
Regional Representative Aníbal Cabrera Echevarría POJOAJU
Andean Liliana Rodriguez CCONG
Caribbean Maryam Amsale Ze-Dingel Alianza ONG
South Cone  Marita Gonzalez  CGT- Red Sindical de Cooperación al Desarrollo, y Confederación Sindical de las Américas (CSA)
Mexico and Central America Laura Becerra Equipo Pueblo DECA
Middle East and North Africa
Regional Representative Ziad Abdel Samad Arab NGO Network for Development (ANND)
Middle East Jamal el Jawahiri Iraqui al-Amal
North Africa Douha El Jourshi ADO+
North America
Brian Tomlinson AidWatch Canada
John Ruthrauff Interaction
Faith-Based Organisations
Eva Ekelund ACT Alliance
Stefano Nobile Caritas International
Atallah FitzGibbon All African Conference of Churches (AACC)
Ilona Maria Dorji Islamic Relief WorldWide
Sector Representative – Global Paola Simonetti International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)
Europe Diego Lopez Gonzales ITUC
North America Matt Simonds ITUC
Africa Hilma Kupila Mote ITUC – Africa
Asia and the Pacific  Parayarrikal Haridasan ITUC – Asia
Latin America and the Caribbean Daniel Angelim Trade Union Confederation of the Americas (TUAC)
Agriculture and Rural Development
Sector Representative – Global Alejandro Barrios Noya People’s Coalition on Food Sovereignty
MENA Mariam Al Jaajaa  Arab Group for the Protection of Nature
Asia Kurniawan Sabar INDIES Indonesia
Latin America Henry Morales Movimiento Tzuk Kim-pop
International CSOs
Sector Representative – Global Luca de Fraia ActionAid
Elie Gasagara World Vision International
Feminist Group
International Nerea Cravioto Association for Women’s Rights in Development (AWID)
Africa Mama Koite Doumbia African Women’s Development and Communications Network
Asia Priti Darooka Programme on Women’s Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (PWESCR)
Asia Nurgul Dzhanaeva Forum of Women’s NGOs of Kyrgyzstan
Latin America Maria Carolina Carrera Ferrer Centro regional de Derechos Humanos y Justicia de Genero: Corporación Humanas
Europe Rosa Belen Agirremezkorta Centro de Estudios de Investigacion sobre Mujeres
MENA Nevine Ebeid New Woman Foundation
Pacific Susana Tuisawau Pacific Center for the Advancement of Women (PACFAW)
Sector Representative/ Coordinator Monica Novillo Coordinadora de la Mujer
Indigenous Peoples
Sector Representative – Global Beverly Longid Indigenous Peoples Movement for Self-Determination and Liberation (IPMSDL)
Asia Jiten Yumnam Forum for Indigenous People of Action
Africa Legborsi Saro Pyagbara Movement for the Survival of the Ogoni People (MOSOP)
Latin America and the Caribbean Norma Maldonado Asosacion Raxch’ och’ Oxlaju Aj
Sector Representative – Global Rey Perez Asis Asia Pacific Youth and Student Association
Pacific Wessley Manasa Tukana Samusamuvodre Vatanitawake Pacific Youth Council (PYC) – Fiji Islands
Africa Eugene Ngalim Cameroon Youths and Students Forum for Peace (CAMYOSFOP)
Latin America and the Caribbean Josefina Vergara Foro Latinoamericano y Caribeno de Juventudes
Sector Representative – Global Ramon Bultron International Migrants Alliance
Asia Glorene Das Tenaganita
Pacific Mandeep Bela Union Network of Migrants
North America Jesus Antonio Arizaga Frente Unido de Inmigrantes Ecuatorianos EE-UU (FUIE)
Europe Paul Asquith African Foundation for Development (AFFORD)
Working Groups
CSO EE Brian Tomlinson AidWatch Canada
CSO DE Anas El Hasnaoui ANND
Private Sector Joan Lanfranco ITUC
South-South Cooperation Erin Palomares ROA Global
Private Sector Joan Lanfranco ITUC
Conflict and Fragility
Fiscal Sponsor Antonio Tujan, Jr. IBON International